‘Parade of Lights’ on June 29 to have 22 competing Floats, Dance Contingents

‘Parade of Lights’ on June 29 to have 22 competing Floats, Dance Contingents

‘Parade of Lights’ on June 29 to have 22 competing Floats, Dance Contingents

No Comments on ‘Parade of Lights’ on June 29 to have 22 competing Floats, Dance Contingents

TACLOBAN CITY (CIO) – Eleven creatively-made floats decorated and illuminated with multicolored lights and 11 brightly costumed dance contingents will parade along the main streets of Tacloban as part of the Sangyaw Parade of Lights on Saturday, June 29.

The City Tourism Operations Office (CTOO) said that this year’s Parade of Lights will be participated in by eleven schools, barangay and community-based contingents and 11 Floats which will include three from Catbalogan City, Samar, Maguindanao, and Sultan Kudarat.

Comprising the Dance Contingents are Tribu Danhani of Eastern Visayas State University, Tribu Tarakloban of San Jose National High School, Manarabo Festival of Hinabangan Western Samar, Tribu Manhuhurip of Brgy. 84 Manlurip San Jose, Tribu San Jose of the San Jose Central School, Tribu Bakhawan of Brgy. 83 Paraiso, Tribu Mandaragat of Barangay 2 Jones, Kasirangan Tribe of Brgy. 42 Quarry District, Tribu Maglalara of Basey, Samar, Tribu Kalusayan of Brgy. 35-A Pampango and Tribu Nagkaurusa of Brgy. 49 Hillside, Youngfield.

The competing floats are Danhani (EVSU), Celebrate Fiesta (Catbalogan City), Finding of Sto. Nino de Tacloban (Tacloban Angelicum Learning Center), L’MBA (Maguindanao), Balanghay (SJCS), Bahandi (Brgy. 83 Paraiso), Mandaragat (Brgy. 2 Jones), Fiesta Bayanihan (Brgy. 42-A Quarry District), Kumpit Sa Sultan Kudarat (Sultan Kudarat), Fiesta Sarimanok (Brgy. 35-A Pampango) and Fluvial Procession in Kankabatok (Brgy. 49 Hillside Youngfield).

Each float will have its individual designs interpreting this year’s Festival theme: “Happiest Fiesta,” while the competing dance groups will be composed of 60 to 100 dancers with lighted costumes and ornamentations.

Festival entries will be judged for its Theme, Lighting Effects, Performance, Creativity Choreography, and Musicality during the parade and performance at the Balyu-an Amphitheater.

Five Hundred Thousand Pesos and trophies await the Grand Champions of the Festival Float and Dance Competitions. The 2nd placer will receive PHP 300,000 and trophy, 3rd placer- PHP 200,000 and trophy, and consolation prizes of 10,000 pesos will be given each to the non-winning entries.

Also taking part in the parade are Officials and employees of the City Government led by Mayor Cristina G. Romualdez and incoming Mayor Alfred S. Romualdez, outgoing Leyte 1st District Congresswoman and incoming Tingog Partylist Representative Yedda K. Romualdez, and Congressman-elect FM Romualdez.

Celebrity indorser and ABS-CBN Talent Claudia Barreto and a number of dignitaries have also confirmed attendance during the fiesta spectacle.

A Civic Parade which will be participated by 20 Groups of Merrymakers will be held at 3:00 PM on June 29 before the Parade of Lights.

The Sangyaw Festival is the official Festival of Tacloban, revived in 2008 by former Mayor Alfred S. Romualdez after Tacloban was declared a Highly Urbanized City. – H. J. Roca/CIO


About the author:

Leave a comment

Back to Top